Home > FLW, Polls > VOTE! What do you think about the Red River cancellation?

VOTE! What do you think about the Red River cancellation?

Categories: FLW, Polls Tags: , ,
  1. Jeff Edwards
    February 10, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I have mixed feelings about the cancellation of the Red River event. To me it all depends on the underlying causes of the cancellation. I spent some time watching the video podcasts of the competitors on the Fantasy Fishing website and to put it mildly, they were all having a hard time catching fish. I believe the best report was by Randall Tharp and that was only 4 bites in one day. Most competitors had one or two bites, and some had none throughout the whole practice period. My feelings on the cancellation depend on why the anglers were advocating to cancel the tournament. If the anglers truly felt endangered by being on the water and were not comfortable being on the river in those conditions, then I cannot disagree with them. Although I do agree that they are professionals and that they should be subject to harsher conditions than everyday anglers, I do not blame them for not wanting to continue on the river in those conditions. Now on the other hand, if the anglers who were strongly opposing that the tournament continue were the same anglers that had an extremely bad practice, I see that as a cop out. It could have been a situation where anglers had absolutely nothing, no strategy, no game plan, strictly no fish and could forsee an extremely bad finish in the first event of the season and used the water conditions as an excuse to do away with the situation. I would like to think that is not the case, I would like to think that the anglers have more integrity and pride than that. Hopefully that is not the reason behind the campaign to end the tournament.

  2. Jeff Edwards
    February 10, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Steve Kennedy’s response “Alabama angler Steve Kennedy, who fished on the river in the 2009 Bassmaster Classic on Feb. 20-23, was put off by his fellow anglers who fought against fishing this week.
    “This place is full of fish,” he said. “At the Classic I found a place with a 100 fish in the 3-pound range, although the cold came in mid-week and they left. I understand the insurance thing, but I don’t understand why the ramps are closed.
    “I heard a number of guys talking about not catching a fish in several days, so I believe that’s what this comes down to.”
    The pros didn’t want to come to the weigh site with sacks full of nothing more than empty dreams. That would have prolonged the whining for four more days and that’s something none of us wanted to hear.

    Right after I made the post above I read this. I guess this kind of answers my question.

  3. February 12, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I think it would have been more widely accepted, if the event was going to be made up in some way

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment