Home > Lagniappe > Banned! Bo gets booted from Bass Resource forums…

Banned! Bo gets booted from Bass Resource forums…

This post is my take on getting banned from the forums at Bass Resource.  Be forewarned–if you are not familiar with the forums at Bass Resource then this post will probably bore you.

This is one of the oddest post I’ve ever published.  Last night I was banned from the Ultimate Bass Resource Guide‘s forum.

BACKGROUND

Being as passionate about bass fishing as I am, I participate in many forums around the internet.  One of my favorites is (or should I say was) the forum at Bass Resource. I can say many positive things about the forum at Bass Resource.  Topics are actively moderated, which helps make the forum enjoyable to visit and keeps high quality standards for the thousands of fishing discussions archived there.  The Bass Resource forum also has an excellent “search” feature that I use when I am researching unconventional topics.

Bass Resource has been linked to my fishing club’s website for eight years.  Next week I am publishing an article about fantasy fishing that will include picks by Glenn May with a link to Bass Resource.  In March The Armchair Anglers Podcast will help promote the television show Lunkerville, a show hosted by Bass Resource regular Mike D.  Lunkerville is also sponsored by Bass Resource.

I share this with you to make the point that I like Bass Resource.  I support Bass Resource.  I recommend Bass Resource as excellent therapy for cabin fever.  That is what makes getting banned so bizarre.

POSTING LINKS

I got into trouble when I pressed the administrators for clarification of the rules regarding posting links.  Here is what their posting FAQ says about posting links in their forum,

“DO NOT POST ADVERTISEMENTS OR PROMOTIONS FOR YOUR SITE, YOUR COMPANY, YOUR PRODUCT, OR TOURNAMENT! YOUR POST WILL BE DELETED AND YOU WILL BE BANNED!  Exceptions are made for non-profit, local bass clubs.”

This is a totally understandable rule.  I’m sure if the administrators did not closely moderate links that are posted the quality of the forums would go downhill quickly.

DELETED POST 1

Bass Resource Log In

Does this mean I am no longer eligible to win prizes in the Bassmaster Classic contest?

Some time ago I was in the market for new rain gear.  Quality rain gear is a major investment for me.  I ended up ordering three different rain suits and researched many others before making my final decision.  At the end of the process I wrote a review sharing the information I learned during the buying process and published it on my fishing club’s website.

If you check the link you will see that there is not a single logo on the page.  There is nothing that would remotely be considered an advertisement or promotion.   Also,  you will notice that the review is published on my fishing club’s website.

I posted this link on Bass Resource.  It was deleted with no notice.

I private messaged the administrators twice and asked for an explanation of why this post was deleted.  I pointed out that the link I provided contained no advertisements or promotions.  I also pointed out that it was my fishing club’s website, which their guidelines specifically provide an exception for.

I received no response.


DELETED POST THE SEQUEL

Flukemaster thinks Bo should have discussed it like an adult.

A few days ago I posted a link to the blog post I made about the Alabama Bass being recognized as a distinct and unique species.

Notice that the link does not contain any promotions or advertisements.  Also notice that in The Armchair Anglers Podcast and Blog is currently an amateur not-for-profit project.  Also notice that WordPress.com does not allow commercial advertisements on their site.  In other words, according to Bass Resource’s rules, the link should have been allowed.

Last night I checked the forum.  The topic had been deleted with no notice.

This time I asked for an explanation in public since my previous private messages were ignored.  The administrator, Gene Jensen, aka “Flukemaster”, locked the post, stated that this should be discussed like adults, and deleted the post shortly thereafter.

I still do not understand what part of the question was not adult like. Before the post was deleted, several forum participants stated that my question was fair.

I politely pressed the issue and was banned. 86ed.  Kicked out.

MODERATORS ARE NECESSARY

I personally think that one of the things that makes the Bass Resource forums good is the fact that they are tightly moderated.  I started visiting Bass Resource more, and BFHP less, because BFHP was not moderated tightly enough.

Obviously, you can’t expect Bass Resource to allow people to blatantly promote competitor sites in their forum.  I am quite certain posters do try this stunt regularly.  “Hey guys, check out my great new site at resourcebass.com”.  I think we would all be surprised at how many posts like that try to be posted at the Bass Resource forums.  We can all understand why the Bass Resource Administrators do not allow this practice.

Here is another example of a no-no that must be moderated.  One thing that is frequently seen on message boards is posters cutting someone else’s article from a blog or other publication and pasting it in a message.  This is a thing called “plagiarism”, and it is important for moderaters to tow a tight line on this practice.

One thing posters can do is post a link to the article.  This lets him or her share the content with their friends, and does not steal the author’s work.  But the problem with this practice is that it can harm the site owner’s site.  For example, if there is a really good thread on BFHP, then it would not be cool of me to post a link at Bass Resource.  This drives traffic away from Bass Resource.  You can’t expect the administrators at Bass Resource to allow this practice without limits.

HOW ABOUT A LITTLE COMMON SENSE

Where is the middle ground?  On a message board entitled “The Ultimate Bass Fishing Resource Forum”, topics are going to be discussed about bass fishing.  There are gems of interesting information found through-out the internet.  Some of these gems are worthy of discussion.  Is it reasonable to ask forum participants to not share any links at all?

I mean, if I hammer the fish tomorrow on a new lure, is it bad for me to post a link to a picture of that lure?

It just seems to me that if you own a forum about that is entirely about bass fishing, and a NEW SPECIES of black bass is identified, that it is reasonable for the forum community to discuss the topic.  This was exiting news to me.  What was wrong with that discussion thread?

If a link is provided that has no advertising, no promotion, and is a fishing club or not for profit, how does that hurt Bass Resource?

I honestly don’t get it.

For the record, I offered to let Bass Resource publish those articles.  If they are so concerned about traffic being driven away from their site, then they should just post it on their server.  That is a win-win-win for everyone.   It seems like a much better solution than banning folks.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I appreciate the words of encouragement I received before I was cut off.  As one forum member stated, “I just wanted to express my support…because you got screwed”.  In the grand scheme of things I realize this is not a big deal. .

But I still think the question of WHY I WAS BANNED is fair.  I would like to challenge Glenn (Glenn May) and Flukemaster (Gene Jensen) to publicly provide me and the Bass Resource community an answer to this question.  I will offer to publish your unedited response here on my blog.  You are both invited to come on the podcast to discuss the issue on the upcoming March episode.  If you are in town for the Classic I will offer to meet face to face and buy you guys a beer.  I will even find a fishing celebrity to moderate the discussion and make sure we all act like adults.

Audio, video, writing…it doesn’t matter to me.  I would just like you to fairly address the issue without hiding behind your Administrator delete and ban buttons.  Will you take me up on my offer?

Note: Keep an eye out.  I will be posting follow-up polls to this post and would like you to vote and share your opinion.



Bookmark and Share

  1. February 5, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    sounds like either way you slice it BR.com got it wrong. they either lack skills in how they write/word rules or interpreting the ones the ones they have already written….or secret option 3, jumped the gun, did something out of emotion and too proud admit fault. imo you are due an apology and reinstatement

  2. February 5, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Someone asked if the commercials on our podcast could explain why the link was deleted and I was subsequently banned. That would have been a fair answer had Bass Resource Admins provided it. But at this time those commercials are run for our guest. We offer free air time all our guest and friends of the show. That would include Bass Resource if they accept my offer to come on the show to discuss. We will be glad to run a Bass Resource commercial and/or commercials for any of their partners should they elect to come on the show.

  3. flukemaster
    February 6, 2010 at 1:05 am

    I think it’s interesting how you left just enough details out of your story to make you look like the victim. The reason BR is such a peaceful website is because we do alot of the moderating behind the scenes. I can’t believe that you wanted to escalate your problem by making it public just because of something that happened a year ago. Good grief!! it was a year ago. Last night you were asked to PM me and you refused. You were warned and you still refused.

    It’s a great article and had you PMed me like I asked, this is what would have happened. I would have gladly become your advocate. I would have asked you to give me a day or two and I would talk to Glenn and also talk to the Moderator who deleted it. Permission would probably have been granted and your post would have been reinstated and bumped to the top. I do this quite often. Instead you decided to take it in another direction and play the “woe-is-me” victim in public. I banned you because I told you that you would be banned if you refused to PM me about it. Nothing more, nothing less. For the record you are only the second active member that has forced me to hit the ban button the last two years, so it’s not like I’m trigger happy.

    Also, That picture of me is copyrighted material. Please remove it. If you wish to have a picture of me I would be glad to send you one.

    • February 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

      How about this flukemaster? As Administrator, why don’t you make the posts in question available to the public? You can lock them and make them available to be viewed only. I will link to them here. Or, we can take screen-shots of the threads. That way the audience can decide for themselves what details are left out.

      If you believe what you say that is the most honest solution. I challenge you be honest and make those post available again so people can decide for themselves.

      As for the picture, I will be happy to change it. Please email the replacement picture to armchairanglers@gmail.com .

  4. February 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Also, about the Private Messaging issue. Had I typed a PM this is what it would have said:

    Dear Glenn and Flukemaster,

    Thank you so much for giving me the privilege of asking this question yet again. They say the definition of insanity is to do the same thing over and over again and expect different results. I guess I am now officially insane since I am asking this question a fifth time. Mom would be so proud.

    Although it is clear that you clearly understand my question, it is not my place to question why I am being asked to type this a third time in the form of another PM. It would be totally unrealistic of me to expect you to take the initiative and for YOU to PM ME. That might involve actually answering my question.

    Procedures must be followed. Following in the tradition of efficiency set by organizations such as the DMV and the IRS, it makes perfect sense for me to have to PM you yet again.

    The other benefit of using this PM system is that it totally leaves the rest of the forum in the dark. Many members have expressed they have the same question as me and would like clarification. But it is best to discuss this behind closed doors and leave them in the dark. It is more fun to keep everyone guessing.

    Thank you for this great customer relations experience. Ignoring my PMs, deleting my post without notice, threatening to ban me, and telling me I am acting juvenile…these are all actions that demonstrate a complete lack of respect for me and my fellow forum members. I have to ask, Do you work for Lowrance?

    Repeatedly referring me to the FAQ is such a nice touch. Pretending it answers my questions when it clearly does not…I’ll be you guys are laughing at that one. Louis Chemi couldn’t have done it better.

    Yours Truly,

    Bo Crawford

  5. skinnywater
    February 6, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Bo,
    It sounds like you have the spirit of the law on your side BUT it seems the letter of the law is clear….It’s BR’s message board and they control the content. You don’t have any rights other than to post, and then let them decide if it is worthy of their board. You on the other hand have your own board and can do the same.
    Why waste you time with these bunch of morons.
    Fish on!

  6. Ray
    February 6, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I was on the forum at BR when this went down, and thought it was an honest portrayal of what occurred in those two threads that were deleted and led to your subsequent banning. I, like you, was a big fan of BR.com. I learned A LOT about fishing, tackle, etc. However, they are not the only game in town, and I have learned some great info other places as well, and when I tried to share what I had learned with the others, my post was immediately deleted as well. I linked to a great article on BassFishin.com about line selection for various lures, and wanted to ask the members if they agreed, disagreed, what would they change, etc. I made a note in my post to the moderators that I hadn’t seen anything like that on BR, and maybe we could take what we learned with the forums input and create a similar article on BR. I was met with silence and a deleted post.

  7. Ray
    February 6, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Just another quick note: in Flukemasters signature, at the bottom of every one of his posts, is an external link to the company he works for. It is a fishing and guide service NOT affiliated with BR. Hypocrisy.

  8. skinnywater
    February 6, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    I missed that…nice catch Ray. you are spot on.

  9. tiger6761
    February 6, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Just noticed this. Have they changed their rules because of this situation? From there rules for membership:
    “Do not post links to your site, articles, videos, or anything that you are affiliated with. If you are banned, you are not entitled to an explanation. All decisions are final.”

    I totally agree that it is their site and they ultimately have the say on who stays and goes. But an explanation for a longtime member seems to be easy enough to provide. I’ll personally be deleting my link to their site. No need to work with a group who won’t work with you.

  10. February 6, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Wow man–it looks like they have changed their rules due to this. I’m flattered. Maybe I am the first person who was banned that had an outlet to vent. I hope they nick name their new rule the “Bo Crawford” rule. You know–me being the trouble maker I am and all. 😉

    The better solution for them would be to use a little common courtesy. Basic manners still apply on message boards. In real life if you walk up to group of people having a harmless conversation and say “Hush. Don’t say another word…open your mouth again I’ll throw you out”…what type of response do they expect to get? Flukemaster might be the nicest guy in the world but a grown person is going to respond with “who are you?” or “what did you just say” or “oh no you did not just tell me to hush”, etc…

    They have lost their damn minds if they think grown adults can be treated like that.

    So according to their new rule if you catch a nice bass and post a link to a you-tube video of the catch you will be banned, you will get no explanation, and the decision is final.

    And don’t dare ask them why you-tube videos are banned! You will be banned!

    Doesn’t sound very smart to me, but it is their forum to run as they wish. If they want to ruin their forum with bad manners and poorly thought-out rules they have the right to do it.

    I suspect they have become so frustrated with spammers over the years that they are not thinking logically about this. I imagine I just got caught in the cross fire.

    I noticed on the polls that Flukemaster has a fair number of people backing him up, which leads me to believe he is normally an alright dude. I have a hard time believing he would ban me just for what I said in the forum. There must be some other factors involved.

    Oh well…this is a dead issue to me now. If Glenn or Flukemaster want to have the final word I will let them have it.

    For the record Glenn–I think you are pissing in your drinking water by treating your forum members like crap. I predict Bass Resource support will decline if it isn’t already. Your fault for punishing everyone for the sins of a few. But like I say, I will give you guys the last word if you want to take it.

    Otherwise, Anyone who wants to post links to Bass Resource alternative sites is welcome to do so here. I personally recommend http://bassboatcentral.com and I am going to try http://bassfishin.com, although I don’t know much about that one yet. Tackle Tour has a good forum too.

  11. flukemaster
    February 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    No I won’t make the post in question available to the public because it’s not open for public debate. Adults discuss their differences in private and come to an agreement that is not influenced by others. Adolescents air their differences in public for all to see and in the end get nowhere by doing so.

    The picture in question is not owned by me. It is owned by The Morgan Company Inc. Their photographer took that picture. It was recently published in a book that just came back from print. I had to get permission to use it. Once again, please remove it or the next person you will be hearing from will be their publishing company if it isn’t removed. This also is contained in the WordPress TOUs.

    Ray,
    As for what is in my signature. That company has been affiliated with BR for years. We have three articles written about their lake. They also signed a contract as a sponsor a week ago. The other is a sponsor of BR. Nice catch though.

    tiger6761
    That rule about linking to “your site” has been around for a long time. We had to add articles because Bo was playing the “Bass Club website” card to try to circumvent this rule. We wanted to make it perfectly clear so this wouldn’t happen again. Bo was not banned for the link, although he could have been. He was banned for blatant disrespect. The same disrespect he is showing now by not removeing the picture even after he was told that it was cobyrighted.

  12. February 6, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Flukemaster…I said I would give you the last word so I will in re: to the BR issue.

    As for the picture, I once again say that I will gladly change it. Please forward the picture of your choice to armchairanglers@gmail.com . The picture was not marked as copyrighted or I wouldn’t have used it. Now that you have brought this to my attention I will gladly change it. I am not going to find another picture of you out on the internet though because for all I know it too is copyrighted and not properly marked.

    Actually, let’s do it like this: I’ll be online for thirty minutes. Send me the pictures within thirty minutes and I will think about changing it.

    Just kidding. I couldn’t resist the jab dude. I hope you see the irony though.

    Seriously, in the time it took you to complain you could have sent a new picture to armchairanglers@gmail.com .

    Also, feel free to pimp your book here. I am not being sarcastic. I would love to see an Amazon link to the book you are in. I am now curious.

  13. flukemaster
    February 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Bo, I can’t send a picture. I’m not on my personal computer and won’t be for a few days so I don’t have a picture available for you. I will gladly send you a pic on Monday or Tuesday. As for the picture. I told the owner last night and he has already contacted WordPress. It is out of my hands now.

    Man I know that bloggers like everything to be out in the open but dude. I don’t work like that and BR doesn’t work like that. I’ve been teaching young men to be leaders for going on 18 years now and a huge thing that I teach them time and time again is don’t air your dirty laundry in public. People will see the skid marks on your drawers. Any successful business owner will tell you to keep the dirt under the carpet and show it to as few people as possible. If you have never read the book “Good to Great” you need to get it. It will change the way you look at doing business.

  14. skinnywater
    February 6, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I think that very idea just caught up with toyota. As a for this ongoing debate. I don’t see “what dirty laundry” you are talking about. It seems like everything is out in the light of day here. Flukemaster, maybe you could shed some light on what Bo did that was so bad. I have not read anything here that seems that bad other than some good old censorship on your part, but hey thats just my take on things. You know what the say there is two sides to every story and then there’s the truth.

  15. flukemaster
    February 6, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Skinny, I didn’t censor anything. I was trying to get to the bottom of why his post was removed. Our policy as Moderators is to do this out of the eye of the public so we can be fair and uninfluenced by others. Bo chose to post his complaint in public and my standard answer is “Please PM me about this.” When he refused to do so several times, it then fell under the rule of “be respectful to members and staff”. We demand a certain amount of respect so we can maintain the high quality atmosphere that we have developed on BR. I gave my standard warning, “PM me or be banned”, and still he refused. So I had no other choice but to ban him. It’s interesting, there has been two other times in the past 12 years where we have had similar issues. Both of them involved someone who had a blog and a few followers.

    There are four Moderators in our forums. Not a one of us is paid. It is completely voluntary, but we run the forums. Glenn oversees it but he has handed much of the moderating over to us so he can concentrate on maintaining the rest of the site. The site is over 800,000 pages so he has a huge job. Bo thought that Glenn was the only one that he needed to PM. When Glenn receives a complaint such as the one Bo sent to him a year ago, he usually doesn’t have the time to investigate. He gives his standard answer. “Please read the FAQ’s” That usually takes care of it. But in Bo’s case it wasn’t enough, so he challenged Glenn with a response that could have been worded differently but wasn’t. Glenn chose to ignore it instead of being confrontational and now a year later all of Bo’s bottle up frustration has now come out. I tried to calm his frustration and take care of his problem but he forced my hand. Do I wish it had turned out different? You bet I do. I hate to put on my Moderator hat. It’s never fun.

    There it is, a behind the scenes look into how we do it. It ain’t perfect but it has worked, for the most part, for many years. We are the best because we try to be fair and still maintain a family friendly forum. It ain’t easy and hopefully one day we start making money and I’ll start getting a check. Until then I keep doing what I do and try to be consistent in how I deal with things like this.

  16. skinnywater
    February 6, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    You demand respect? I thought you were the one who is teaching young men to be leaders. I always thought respect was earned.

    As far a censorship, call it what you want moderate, censor etc.. its your board and you can do with it what you want. But I think a little common courtesy to customer might have been due. Thats how you earn respect.

    My question is this: Bo, did he PM you? And did you respond? And Fluke what did you want him to PM you about? (It seems pretty clear what he was trying to get a answer to he kept post the same question.)

    As to your point on the other guy that got banned having his own blog what are you hinting at? I would be very interested in what he got banned for?
    I understand your process on how people get banned but you still didn’t answer my question about why? Was the violation that got him kicked he didn’t PM you? Or did he post something illegal to the BR site? Because now it sounds more like he just pissed you off with his lack of respect for your authority and you booted him. (Again its your site, but word gets around on stuff like this and before you know it people are dropping like flies)

    I quote Fluke on the next lines:
    “There are four Moderators in our forums. Not a one of us is paid. It is completely voluntary, but we run the forums. Glenn oversees it but he has handed much of the moderating over to us so he can concentrate on maintaining the rest of the site. The site is over 800,000 pages so he has a huge job. Bo thought that Glenn was the only one that he needed to PM. When Glenn receives a complaint such as the one Bo sent to him a year ago, he usually doesn’t have the time to investigate. He gives his standard answer. “Please read the FAQ’s” That usually takes care of it. ”

    Looks like there might be a break down in communication if Glenns usual response is handing things off and hoping things work out. The devil is in the details. I think the lesson is that these things are bound to happen and some times it makes good business sense to explain to your customers what is going on and not keep it behind closed doors. I am sure a simple response would have worked for Bo. But Bo being Bo will press the issue till he gets a response.
    Fluke you have a good thing going but all it takes is one issue to blow it up. keep up the good work and we will have to agree to disagree about this one.

  17. flukemaster
    February 7, 2010 at 1:07 am

    What was I supposed to do PM him and say “Please PM me back”. All he had to do is click on one button at the bottom of any of my posts and he would have instantly been able to PM me. There was no need to explain to our “customers” what was going on. It was between Bo and the Admin.

    One Moderator read his original post and saw it as linking to his own blog and deleted it. This mod saw no reason to let Bo know because it is answered big red letters in the FAQ’s. “Do not link to your own website”. For some reason Bo considers this blog as a Fishing Club website or something… I can’t seem to find anything that proves this. Where are your tournament listings and results? It’s a blog and a podcast website. It is non profit now because they have no sponsors but I get the feeling that he hopes that with enough promotion he can make money on it some day. I hope he does. But he’s not going to do it by breaking our rules. We have never allowed any member to link to their own website unless they asked permission.

    The other guys got banned for the same exact thing. Getting mad because we wouldn’t let them post a link to their blog and then trying to publicly gain support because we were enforcing our own rules. Then when we banned them they went on a “around the net” search for support.

    He didn’t ask permission and was censored. He got upset and challenged us in public in hopes to drag our members into his little problem. This alone was very disruptive and disrespectful to our forum, admin, and members, who log on to read about bass fishing and not about some guy who’s upset about how he was treated. This may happen in other forums but it won’t in ours. We have over 26000 members, thousands of them log on every day, why is it that this one person thinks that he is better than anyone else and deserves the right to break our rules.

    Here is the thread that he posted.

    [” I wrote this article yesterday. I consider it a major bombshell because we have been misidentifying fish for 50 years. This isn’t like discovering the Shoal Bass–a bass that is rarely weighed in in tournaments. The Alabama Bass is a major factor for tournament fishermen.

    Anyway, the feedback I’m getting is that this isn’t big news. I’m surprised that people don’t think this is a big deal. Here is a link to the article.

    https://armchairanglers.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/genetic-science-confirms-that-alabama-bass-are-distinct-and-unique/

    Since our site has no sponsors, hopefully posting that link doesn’t violate Bass Resource Guidelines.”]

    Sorry Bo, it DID violate Bass Resource Guidelines and it was deleted. You knew it had a chance to be deleted and yet you were still upset that it was. I’m sure by next week I will be able to find posts, blogs and a podcast all over other forums, and facebook as you go on yet another search for support from others for how horribly you were treated on our forums for breaking our rules. This is not the first time and won’t be the last. I’m done. Take care, and I do hope to see you at the Classic, but I’ll take a coke. I don’t drink.

  18. February 12, 2010 at 3:20 am

    Outlaw

    Personally I think message boards that don’t allow external links are misguided souls. There are some fabulous boards such as The Bassholes, Futurebass.com, and Kevin Van Dam Forums that allow it and it IS NOT A PROBLEM, in fact it makes it a better message board IMO.

    I don’t see how a site can call itself The Ulitmate Bass Fishing Resource Guide and then close off avenues to useful information. The Armchair Anglers Blog looks to be putting together an excellent “bass fishing resource,” yet the Ultimate Bass Fishing Resource Guide doesn’t want anybody guided to it, for fear of what exactly I’m not sure.

    It’s sad that some of the most popular fishing message boards I’m aware of are petty and paranoid when it comes to this kind of stuff.

    Note- At my blog I link to the Ultimate Bass Fishing Resource Guide and in their “Links” they do link to Bass Pundit which I appreciate.

    BP

  19. February 12, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I agree with the pastor here, I have a small forum on fishcraze that has been up since 97 or so. I love links, links to anything and all things fishing. heck, link anything as long as it’s legal.
    My thinking is a forum is there to participate,learn, and share.
    kinda hard to share when you can’t.

    ohwell, there’s a ton of good fishing sites/boards out there 🙂

    IMHO
    Danny

  20. February 14, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I’ve just found the article very interesting! thank you for the thread

  21. Peter
    March 8, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I got banned there also, similarly ambiguous and arbitrary.

  22. Basswitch
    April 5, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I was happily reading Bass Resource this morning, switched sections, and got a banned message as well… I don’t post often enough to cause controversy, so I’m kinda at a loss. I can’t even figure out how to contact anyone to ask why. Which is how I found this thread.

    Confused in Wisconsin…

  23. DarrenG
    May 6, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    id rather suck a fart out of a dead horses butt than use bass resources. im a long time member of the site, have never been banned. have friends i fish with that ive met on the site. the site is gear to have as many member as possible over the good structure and content.

  24. wfwe
    August 26, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Sounds like a whiny, childish, temper-tantrum. What a total moron.

  25. ron
    November 11, 2013 at 8:01 am

    yall sound like a bunch a computer gieeeeeeeks yall need to loadup an go fishin

  26. mark
    February 18, 2014 at 8:23 am

    It is his site his rules. you don’t like it you don’t have to go there. stop whining!

  27. Jon
    April 16, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    WOW! …never going to assresource again. I am smart enough to read between the lines here. Fluke keeps acting like a small child then opens his go-to book of clever sayings to make himself look good while acting like a disrespectful small child. I have seen every word regarding this subject,so it’s not like i am just”supporting” a banned member for no reason. I say,grow the heck up,and quit hiding behind unreasonable rules,and clever word play. A leader would never behave the way you have. You are definitely no leader,Fluke. You are a disgrace. I see you really are trigger happy when you get your little feelers hurt. You can’t keep cleverly explaining away an army of complaints. You just look like more of an immature,self loathing idiot than before. It’s not like i am a fan of ACA,your behavior is just simple observation. That is all. Good day!

  28. October 18, 2014 at 1:45 am

    Thought you blokes were being a bit sensitive, that is until I got booted off.
    My first and only comment/contribution was to inform a forum member that Platypus fishing line now has a distributor in USA. That the family owned and run business here in Australia has been making fishing line for over 100 years. Check out their web site. I got a please explain, what connection do I have with the company. I replied almost immediately that I have No, Zilch Zero connection with the company, paid or otherwise. I am just an enthusiast that has used Platypus fishing line just like my late dad & as does my son. So I got booted off the forum. Very strange people behind the scene pulling the strings.Brilliant for America Australia relationships. Have to tell you that Bloody Decks is gangbusters better.

  29. nick sadler
    January 14, 2015 at 1:52 am

    I wouldn’t feel to bad. All your missing is a bunch of kids asking questions about braid or
    What’s the best rod. Or sponsors watching posts like vultures waiting to swoop in to honk their products and services. Worthless forum in my opinion.

  30. Gravestone
    April 20, 2015 at 9:32 am

    I got banned from BR about 2 years ago. I just “visited” BR today. Same mis-information nonsense!!!!!!! Moderators like 00mod and roadwarrior should either learn what they’re commenting on (by learning how to fish) or KEEP THEIR MOUTHS SHUT!!!!!!!!!! There are some guys on that site that are knowledgeable but get into an argument with some “internet blowhard” and the clown posse, AKA “moderators” always take the “internet blowhard” side, why? because the mods don’t know what they’re talking about!

    Gravestone

  31. Shane
    June 18, 2015 at 11:36 pm

    I myself have PM’d Glenn Flukemaster road warrior 00mod and j francho on a few occasions as to why a certain member who is not a site sponsor is able to obtain NIB items on an almost daily basis and post them in the flea market. I was given a response by the only respectable moderator bluebasser86 and he said it may be someone “tricking” out some equipment and then selling it. This is NOT the case. Almost every item posted is NIB. So how is this major violation or their policies acceptable and yet when I email the moderators 3 of them deleted without even reading and three read email with ZERO reply. I think their is major favoritism being used because the seller may personally know one or more of the moderators.

  32. Fishin in Florida
    July 9, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    I myself am probably the next member who will be banned. All due to following the rules and sending an actual PM for a certain mod to clarify. I asked how an action I was issued warning for didnt pertain to other individual members currently doing the same thing. Seems as if one mod doesn’t like how I question other members posts as to why they may post something. I guess people get to sensitive if you ask them to explain what they mean.

  1. February 5, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

