Home > Episodes, Lagniappe > Top 10 Podcasts–Why am I just now catching on?

Top 10 Podcasts–Why am I just now catching on?

I had to watch a TV without a DVR the other day and it was an extremely painful experience.  The DVR has become such an essential part of the TV viewing experience—it really makes me wonder how we were able to function as a society without them.  Fast forwarding through commercials,  pausing when the phone rings, when the wife talks about what she found on sale, or when the kids’ light saber battle ends up in front of the TV.  How did I survive before I had DVR?

I now feel the same way about my iPod.  The iPod is like a DVR for talk radio.   Tired of the long commercials?….press a button and fast forward through all that stuff.  Love the NFL but could care less about the NBA?…press a button and fast forward through all the NBA stuff.  FF, pause, rewind…using your MP3 player for on demand talk radio is awesome.

Why didn’t I figure this out five years ago?

I mean I knew a podcast was like on demand radio, but I didn’t KNOW how cool it would be.

I guess I had to make a podcast before I fully appreciated how cool they are.  In hindsight, it is amazing how little Clint and I knew about podcasting when we conceived of The Armchair Anglers Podcast late last year.   I kid you not, this is the the conversation we had after we made our test episode:

Bo: Clint, Good news! Our podcast up on iTunes.

Clint: Great!

Bo: Now people can listen to it on their iPods.

Clint: You mean people listen to podcasts on iPods?


No, he wasn’t joking.  And no, Clint is not daft.  It was just something he had never thought of before.  Believe it or not, I don’t think either of us had ever listened to a podcast on an iPod before.

How cool would it be if Dan Patrick talked about bass fishing?

We were late learning about the whole podcasting fad I suppose (insert backwoods Alabama joke here).  In fact, when I asked a technical question on an Apple forum, some guy quipped, “you are going to START a podcast in 2009? When are you going to pick-up tweeting, in 2014?”.

Nothing better than having a little fun at the rookie’s expense.  But it was a fair statement actually.  Based on what I’ve seen, podcasting hit is heyday in 2005-2007.  By 2008 the fad had started to pass.

This ties in to my biggest complaint with the iTunes Store.

There are thousands, and I means thousands, of outdated podcast episodes on iTunes.  There are loads of podcast out there that stopped making new episodes in 2007-2008 once the podcasting fad began to fade.

iTunes really should let you filter search results based on given critera.   If you search for “bass fishing”, you should be able to click a few buttons and view only those podcast that have posted new episodes in the last 3 months, 1 year, 3 years…whatever criteria you choose.

But iTunes does not have this functionality currently, therefore it is up to you to manually search through the hoards of podcasts out there to find those producing current episodes.  With over 150,000 podcasts currently available, finding good podcasts is like trying to find a needle in a haystack.

Hopefully I can jump start your personal podcast search by sharing with you some of my personal favorites.  The following are my Top 10 Podcasts, complete with iTunes hyperlinks: 

  1. Freakonmics Radio – I know most of you are thinking that sticking a sharp object in your eye would be more appealing than listening to a podcast about Economics, but I promise you this show is entertaining and informative.  They talk about subjects most of you are interested in–like football and sex.  This is also the best produced show I have heard—I wish I could get Clint to listen and take notes.  In one episode Steve Levitt says, “Economists don’t have the social skills to realize the things they say or do offend others”.  I take comfort in the fact that others in the world are as socially inept as me!

  2. ESPNU College Football – Around here in Birmingham there are only two subjects discussed on sports radio:  Alabama Football and Auburn Football.  It is over-the-top biased, tough to listen to,  and pretty much makes me want to vomit in my car on most days.  (eg: Finebaum).  This College Football Podcast is the antithesis to shows such as Finebaum.  All year long, Ivan Maisel and Beano Cook provide entertaining, objective, intelligent, and informative conversations about the sport.

  3. WSJ Editors’ Picks – These are quick-hit short segments of the most interesting news of the day.  The Wall Street Journal is the  publication that actually does provide fair and balanced coverage.

  4. Dan Patrick Show – Dan Patrick took a brief hiatus and changed networks, but his new show is as good as ever.  Pro football and college football are really the only sports he covers that I care about, so I don’t listen when MLB and the NBA are in season.  Now that the NFL draft is over, I will probably tune out until the start of NFL training camps.

  5. Bass Zone Radio – Considering the fact that this is a bass fishing blog, I’ll bet you were wondering when I would get to a bass fishing podcast.  Bass Zone Radio gets my vote as the best podcast about fishing.  My only complaint is that their iTunes feeds are not very dependable.  For example, as I type there are episodes available on the Bass Zone site that haven’t carried over to iTunes yet (see screenshot below).  This is a bummer for those of us who like to have current episodes download to our iPods while we sleep.

  6. Tournament Fishing Radio –  Kory Mitchell and Eric Prey have become friends of The Armchair Anglers.  Their show is maybe 30% weighted towards Missouri anglers and 70% weighted to topics pertinent to the entire country.   If you live in Missouri, you are missing out if you don’t listen to this show.  The #6 ranking applies to those of us in the rest of the country outside Missouri.  It is a very good show.  I disagree with some of what they say, but I give them both credit for calling it as they see it.  Also, unlike BassZone, their iTunes feed is updated like clockwork.  I can count on a new episode being available every week.

  7. BassFeed – This is a quality bass fishing podcast with top named guests.  The host, Billy Raymond, asks the right questions.  I highly recommend the Boyd Duckett episode, recorded while Boyd was at the 2010 Classic.

  8. Twin City Limits – This podcast is all about fantasy fishing (so far at least).  I have to recognize the skills since host Rich Lindgren’s teams are killing mine this year.  Rich’s colleague, Greg Huff, would be fairing better in fantasy fishing if he didn’t have to swing for the fences in order to catch-up to Rich.

  9. The Bass Reporters – Veteran BASS reporters Steve Price and Ken Duke host this show.  Their respect for the history of the sport becomes apparent as you listen to their discussions.  The Bass Reporters would be ranked higher but for the fact that they haven’t produced any new episodes recently.  However, I have it on good authority that this is only a temporary circumstance, and they will eventually start producing new episodes again.

  10. Ultimate Bass Radio —  Kent Brown host Ultimate Bass Radio, which is a West Coast based show.  When they are discussing topics that affect the entire country, it is an excellent show.  When they discuss topics that are centered around California only, it can be boring to those of us who don’t fish out there.  My only complaint is that I wish the description field for the episodes was populated so that I could tell which episodes to skip (see screenshot).

Of the 150,000+ podcasts available, there are some bad ones out there.  Hopefully my Top 10 list will help you find a few gems in the rough.

I highly suggest subscribing to these podcast and letting iTunes download new episodes while you sleep.

Which podcasts have I overlooked?  What are you favorite podcasts?  I invite you to enter a comment below and share your thoughts.

Bass Zone's iTunes feed frequently does not update when new episodes are available (how about that high tech arrow?)

For Ultimate Bass Radio, if the episode description column contained more information, those of us living outside California would know which episodes to skip.



If you have an iPhone, you might want to check out this article that covers subscribing to podcast directly to your device.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. April 29, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Thanks for the mention, only 6 of your top 10 are bass fishing related? Maybe you just need to come back with an All Bass Fishing Podcast list, maybe we will climb the ladder by then…. By then maybe you will have listed to our episodes with guests like Zona, Bryan Thrift, Clausen, Ish, Kriet and others covering national tourneys beyond Fantasy Fishing, and when our bass season finally opens, we will probably talk a little more local MN bass fishing like TFR!

    Rich

  2. April 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

    8 out of 150,000 ain’t bad Rich. You beat PTI, Colin Cowherd, Mike and Mike, all of NPR, all of Fox Sports, Comedy Central, etc…not to mention many fishing podcasts. But point taken–my statement “all about fantasy fishing” is inaccurate for the reasons you mention. Please accept this as my official correction–I can vouch to our readers that Twin City Limits covers the topics you mention above, including top-named guests.

  3. April 29, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Thanks for the shout out Bo! You guys are definitely on my required listening list.

    Hey, wanna good laugh? Watch Rich fall into a frozen bog up to his nuts and scream for me to come save him. Here’s a link to a teaser of our web-TV fishing show, “All About Bass” …

  4. May 4, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Based on your recommendation I am going to give Ultimate Bass Radio a few downloads and test drive them

  5. Dave Ryan
    May 7, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    TFR is the best to me. Armchair is a strong second getting stronger every month. Ultimate Bass is good but Kent is west coast or die.

  6. Doyle Craker
    May 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Hey, what happened to BASSFEED? That was the first fishing podcast that I found, and listened through the whole archive, but they seem to be stuck on episode 70.

    Is he done? That’d be too bad.

  7. May 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I dunno what happened to BassFeed Doyle. Last I heard Billy was in the middle of a move to Missouri. I assume he is tied up with that…maybe Billy actually got the chance to go fishing! I think all of us bass fishing bloggers and podcasters go through phases where our real jobs interfere with our passions. Life can be fairly inconvenient that way…

  8. May 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Bo’s right. I’m in one of those down phases where other things in life has to take precedence over the podcast. I hate being away from it. I feel like I’m completely out of the loop. My move to Missouri is almost complete enough that I’m hoping to get back in the swing very soon. Along with new episodes, look for a new website and some other interesting features.
    Thanks for asking about the show and thanks for your support.
    Billy Raymond
    Host of BassFeed: The Bass Fishing Podast!

  9. June 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Yeah, i think DVR’s definitely are very important these days.

  1. April 29, 2010 at 7:24 am

Leave a Reply

