Home > BASS, Lagniappe, Opinion > The Heaviest Ounce and other contemplations…

The Heaviest Ounce and other contemplations…

Will there be sight fishing at Smith Mountain Lake? Bo thinks so...

Smith Mountain Lake – What will the Smith Mountain Lake fish be doing next week when the Elite Series pros hit the lake?  Many experts are predicting that it will not be a sight fishing tournament like it was a year ago.   I will boldly go against the grain here and predict that there will be plenty of fish on the beds by the time the tournament starts.

What is my logic?  Last weekend I fished three different bodies of water here in North Central Alabama; a large reservoir, a medium lake, and a small pond.  All three places had more bass locked on beds than I have ever seen.   Even I could hook a few without spending much time coaxing them–and I am such a pitiful caster that I have to cast twenty times before I can get a plastic near a bed.   Shaw Grigsby, Kelly Jordon, and company would have had a field day catching all these fish. 

Obviously, Smith Mountain Lake isn’t in Alabama.  However during the Blue Ridge Brawl I speculate that, given the differences in latitude, the timing will be about right for the fish in Virginia to act similar to the fish I saw in Alabama over Easter weekend.

This is wild speculation coming from the guy who predicted the Bassmaster Classic would be won with Coosa Spots! For the record though, although I missed the call on that one, there were several other against the grain Classic predictions I made that did come to pass.

Wax on, wax off Bradlison...

Podcast – As some of you may have noticed, Clint and I have not released the April 2010 episode of The Armchair Anglers Podcast yet.  We have strategically delayed recording on purpose…Stay tuned.

Depends and Pampers, The Captain and The Kid – It wasn’t by design, but age and it’s affect on bass anglers has been a recurring discussion on our blog and podcast.  I suppose this helps explain why a smile grows on my face every time I see Guy Eaker and Bradley Roy sitting high in the AOY standings.  Guy is sitting at #3 in AOY points, while Bradley is sitting high at #16.   At age 70 and 19, respectively, Guy and Bradley are living proof that bass fishing is a sport for all ages.

For the record, my pre-season prediction was that the Elite Series field would destroy Bradley.  For the record, I hope I am proved wrong by the end of the season.

Time to break out the old playbook – This year’s Elite Series schedule is more front-loaded towards the beginning of the calendar year than it has ever been before.  Combined with the record cold winter we had, you have to think that the offshore ledge fishing patterns will not be as strong this year as they have traditionally been in year’s past.  2010 could be the year of the bank beaters.

It will be interesting to see how this effects KVD and Tim Horton—both known for their offshore fishing prowess.  KVD is sitting at 42nd in the AOY race, and Tim at 73rd.

The 2010 Elite Series schedule is front loaded...

Neither of these pros are used to seeing that many competitors in front of them.  Will they be able to mount a come-back without an offshore bite?

Both KVD and Tim did pretty well for themselves back in the old days before the Elite Series’s lengthened schedule.  We all know they have the ability to mount a comeback–but only time will tell if they actually pull it off.

I wonder what a Classic would be like without Kevin VanDam?

Quote of the Month –  “…Robby Rose took a fishing rod in one hand and a bible in the other and tore through the local Dallas area tournaments like Moses through the Red Sea”.—Reeltruth Blog

The shrink is in for G-Man and the Squirrel.

This quote cracked me up.  I’m not sure who the author behind the Reeltruth Blog is, but he left little doubt about what he thinks on the whole Robby Rose situation.  It sort of reminds me of the time I heard Ann Coulter describe Edward Kennedy as having a bottle of scotch in one hand and a pair of panties in the other…

The Head Doctor – This year Gerald Swindle and Jeff Kriet have talked openly about seeing a sports psychologist to help improve their game.  Kudos to them I say!  It is my belief that bass fishing is one of the most mentally challenging sports in existence.  Gerald and Jeff are smart to seek the same expert advice professional athletes in other sports receive.

Is it just me, or does it seem like these guys aren’t intimidated by KVD any more?

Upcoming Stories – I thought I’d give you heads up on a couple of stories I am researching.

After Skeet Reese lost the Duel in the Delta by one solitary ounce (the heaviest ounce), many fellow armchair anglers speculated that a few drops of extra water in Skeet’s weigh-bag could have made a huge difference.

A saturated wet weigh-bag was an important part of our high-tech weigh-in system. (Photo: TMTanglers)

A few years ago my bass club actually experimented quite a bit with weigh-bags.  Because we couldn’t afford an expensive Equalizer scale, we used a homemade tripod, a modified weigh bag, and a hand held scale as our weigh-in system.  I am going to see if I can find the results of our test because this was years ago.  I do know that after those test we made it part of our procedure to saturate the handles of the bag.

Another post I am working on is sharing my favorite podcasts with you.  I will give you something to listen to while you wait for the forthcoming episode of The Armchair Anglers Podcast…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. haynesdad
    April 14, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Correct me if I am wrong, but doesnt the previous years classic champ get an auto invite to the next year? If that is the case, then KVD is in for next year regardless of where he finishes in points.

  2. April 14, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    You are exactly right Haynesdad! Thank you for pointing that out. Please keep reading because there is no telling how many other errors I have sprinkled around this blog…

  1. April 12, 2010 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

